?> skip to Main Content





NOV. 18, 2021

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is AFE_2019_SEAL-1024x1024.png


Dallas, Texas – The Dallas Historical Society will host its 39th Awards for Excellence luncheon on Thursday, November 18, at 11:30 a.m. at the Fairmont Hotel, 1717 North Akard Street
The event honors those who make significant contributions to Dallas’ quality of life, providing innovation, guidance, and support in categories such as Arts, Education, Sciences, Humanities, Philanthropy and more. The complete list of this year’s awards includes:

    • Arts Leadership – Gayle Halperin
      Commitment to the arts as an advocate, leader, administrator, mentor, and philanthropist, making Dallas a richer environment for all
    • Creative Arts – Jonathan Norton
      A homegrown, nationally recognized playwright whose rich characters and stories are inspired by growing up in Dallas
    • Education – Catherine LeBlanc
      Dedication to education through her Catch Up and Read program which trains primary school teachers in new and effective reading techniques
    • Health/Sciences – Agape Clinic
      Providing free medical care to the medically underserved of Dallas for almost 40 years
    • History – Nancy McCoy
      Extensive work as a preservation architect in the commercial, cultural, residential, parks, and educational sectors
    • Humanities – Alessandra Comini
      Accomplishments as an art historian, lecturer, author, and professor over the past 40 years
    • Philanthropy – Diane Bumpas
      Celebrating Texas State History and Dallas heritage through her generosity of time, effort, and contributions
    • Volunteer Community Leadership – Rene Martinez
      Long term dedication to the betterment of Dallas through his accomplishments as an educator, political leader, and civic leader

The 2021 Jubilee History Maker Award will be presented to Cece Cox. She will be honored for her outstanding leadership and advocacy in the LGBTQ community through her tireless 30 plus year commitment to civil rights.

Presenting Sponsor:


UPCOMING | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019


Back To Top