Awards for Excellence

2019 Awards for Excellence in Community Service

Benefitting the Dallas Historical Society 

November 21, 2019 | 11:30am

Fairmont Dallas Hotel

1717 N Akard St.
Dallas, TX 75201



Joan Davidow, supporter of local non-profit art institutions and artists


Mary Vernon, artist with more than 50 years as an instructor in the arts


Michelle Kinder, leader in outstanding programing supporting the social & emotional health of children


Baylor Scott & White Health Uterine Transplant Team, pioneers in successfully transplanting a uterus, thus giving thousands of women hope to bear children


Frances James, preservationist and chronicler of Dallas’ historic cemeteries


Jubilee Park and Community Center, committed to creating a safe, secure, vital neighborhood in the Southeast Dallas community


Ernie Michael Fernandez, M.D., bettering the lives of children with diabetes through his work with Camp Sweeney


Norm Hitzges, legendary sports journalism broadcaster and author


Peggy Oglesby Allison, longstanding community volunteer and change agent


John McCaa, former WFAA anchor. For more than 30 years John has been a fixture in Dallas Journalism bringing a steady and reliable voice to many of Dallas’ historic events. He will be honored for his tireless pursuit of the truth through journalism.

Dallas Historical Society

Honorary Co-Chairs
Linda Perryman Evans
Mary Jalonick

Event Co-Chairs
Alina & Ruben E. Esquivel

AFE Committee Co-Chairs
Louise Caldwell
Mary Suhm

Selection Committee Coordinator
Louise Caldwell

Arrangements Committee Chair
Shannon Wilson Callewart

Master of Ceremonies
Stewart H. Thomas

Executive Director
Karl Chiao

Lunch Host Committee*

Lindalyn Adams
Barbara & Don Averitt
Kendra & Mark Averitt
Brynn Bagot
Scott Barnes
Paula Blackmon
Katy & Lawrence Bock
Jennifer Burns
Diane & Harold Byrd
Amy Camp
Laura & Ken Capps
Margaret Cervin
Karl Chiao
Janis & Roy Coffee, Jr.
Barbara Jeanne Murchison Coffman
Dick Collins
Maryann & Michael Denton, Jr.
Beth & David Dike
Amy Donovan
Lissie & Steve Donosky
Nancy Gopez
Mona & Bill Graue
Suzanne & Michael Grishman
John Harris
Joseph Hernandez
Charlie Hodges
Wendy Holder
Laura & Ellison Hurt
Susan & Bob Jenevein

Madeline Jobst
Kris Johnson
Maggie Kipp
Veletta Forsythe Lill
Courtney & Andrew Marcus
Sara & David Martineau
Pat & Clyde McCall, Jr.
Stacey & Nicholas McCord
Sharon McCullough
Renee & Jeff McKinney
Micehelle Meadows
Debbie Heller Meyers
Liz Minyard
Carol Montgomery
Susan & Clint Montgomery
Mary & Joe Parker
Kit & Kemp Sawers
Carol Seay
Nancy Shelton
Stewart Slack
Lynn & Allan Smith
Will Stroud
Mary Suhm
Jill Tannenbaum
Sharman & Fen Vesecky
Barbara & Roy Washburn
Debbie & Robert Witte
Joyce & Linus Wright
Kim & Shannon Wynne

Presenting Sponsor

Hall of State Sponsors

Lyda Hill Philanthropies

Gold Medallion Sponsors

Mimi Cole & Dealey Campbell
John A. Henry, III
Mike & Mary Terry

Tejas Warrior Sponsors

Barnes & Company
Locke Lord, LLP
Mona & David Munson
Debbie Heller Myers

Kelli & Allen Questrom
Southwestern Medical Foundation
Margo & Ross Perot
Kimberly & Shannon Wynne

Additional Sponsors

H-E-B / Central Market

*Host committee list as of recipient notification mailing